A warm welcome awaits at Dundee’s major venue in the heart of the City. This 4 star arts venue creates a stunning image for your event with the main entrance amid the Doric columns overlooking the pedestrianised City Square.
Situated close to all travel links, with ample car parking nearby and a wide range of accommodation within walking distance of the venue, it is easily accessible for your delegates/audiences.
History of Caird Hall:
In the 19th and early 20th centuries an overcrowded warren of closes and tenements known as the Vault occupied the area of Dundee City Centre now taken up by the Caird Hall, Council Chambers and City Square. In medieval times the site was occupied by St. Clement’s Church and graveyard.
Sir James Caird, who amassed a fortune through the jute trade in Dundee, donated up to £100,000 for the building of a new City Hall and Council Chamber.
The whole area of the Vault and the Greenmarket had to be demolished including Dundee’s architecturally significant 18th century Town House.
King George V and Queen Mary laid the foundation stone of the Caird Hall in 1914 by electric press button control from Caird’s Ashton Works in the Hawkhill. The electric buttons were formed from large pieces of Emerald and Jade. The Emerald, of 271 carats in weight, and one of the largest in the world, was presented as a gift to the king. The gem was handed back and later became incorporated into the Lord Provost’s Chain of Office.
Soon after the foundation stone had been laid, building work come to a halt because of the First World War, and it was not until 1923 that work was finally completed. The building, designed by city architect James Thomson, is constructed on a reinforced concrete framework. The ten doric columns facing City Square are each four feet in diameter and thirty-two feet high.
The Lord Provost looks forward to welcoming isamDUNDEE2015 congress at the civic reception on Monday 5 October 2015 at RRS Discovery & Discovery Point.
RRS Discovery & Discovery Point offer fantastic views over the River Tay towards the rolling hills of Fife which create a wonderful scene for any occasion. The keen sense of history throughout the venue contrasts and combines with the latest technology, to offer you the best of both worlds.
History of RRS Discovery:
At the beginning of the 20th Century Antarctica was still an uncharted wilderness. Exploration was a daunting task, involving a long voyage through remote and tempestuous seas just to reach the continent. The 1901 British National Antarctic Expedition was the vision of Sir Clements Markham, President of the Royal Geographical Society. Naturally cautious, Markham saw the aims of the expedition as purely scientific. Being the first to reach the South Pole was never one of the objectives. By 1900 Markham had raised the necessary funds, now all he needed was a ship, and a man to lead the expedition.
As a major whaling centre Dundee’s shipyards had long experience of constructing ships robust enough to travel through the Arctic pack ice. It was this expertise that Markham harnessed to build RRS Discovery, the first vessel to be constructed specifically for scientific research. While the design was based on the great Dundee whalers, there were some modifications to be made. Magnetic surveys were to be an important part of the scientific work of the expedition. To be sure of complete accuracy an exclusion zone round the magnetic observatory was created, with no iron or steel allowed within 30 feet of the area.
Captain Robert Falcon Scott RN
As leader of the expedition Markham wanted “a naval officer in the regular line… young and a good sailor with experience of ships under sail. He must have imagination and enthusiasm… be calm, yet quick and decisive in action.” His search ended with a young naval officer he had first encountered twelve years earlier, Lieutenant Robert Falcon Scott. Devon born, Scott had joined the navy at thirteen. Following a chance reunion with Markham, Scott applied for the post of expedition leader. He was appointed in June 1900 and promoted to Commander RN at the age of just 33. Though a rather shy man he was also steady, strong and, as later events were to prove, immensely courageous.
Dundee Heritage Trust is the charity which manages Discovery Point & RRS Discovery and is responsible for the guardianship, preservation, and portrayal of Dundee’s heritage in ways that educate, inspire and enlighten current and future generations.
Enjoy an evening of true Scottish Hospitality, experience a taste of Scotland with local food and entertainment. Guthrie Castle is an exclusive use venue specialising in providing a unique experience for organisations seeking a special location for their event. Set in 156 acres of outstanding natural beauty, the Castle dates back to 1468 and boasts a private 9-hole golf course, loch and historic walled garden.
History of Guthrie Castle:
In the year 1299, the Northern Lords of Scotland sent Squire Guthrie to France to effect the return of Sir William Wallace to Scotland and resume the fight against the English. Guthrie embarked at Arbroath, landed at Calais, and returned to Montrose with his charge. James II originally granted the barony to Sir David Guthrie, the King’s Treasurer, who subsequently obtained a warrant from James II of Scotland under the great seal to build a castle and a “yett” (entrance gate) at Guthrie in 1468. It is an historic site and well known in Scotland. The Castle and additions continued as the Guthrie family residence until the early 80’s. The Guthrie’s have been prominent in the ecclesiastical, military and literary fields of Scotland since the early 1500’s.
The Castle, was built originally by Sir David in 1468, consisted only of the square tower, the current site of the library, Guthrie suite, ancient bedroom, and snooker room. It is believed that the family gave up living in the tower and built a house close by around 1760. In 1848, John Guthrie, with the help of architect David Bryce, connected the tower and the house, resulting in the finely panelled hall with the oak staircase leading to bedrooms above the well-proportioned west bedroom (Guthrie Suite). The Peña’s first inhabited the Castle in September 1984 and have been here ever since.